This has been a busy couple of months for me.  Ever since I stepped up my blog-followings back in June (on my birthday, as it happens), I have been nominated for no less than 4 awards. 

Thank you, everyone.  I’d just like to *sobs* thank my mother, my neighbours, my cat…

Just kidding.  I’m no Gwyneth Paltrow.  Except maybe at the weekends,but that’s another story.

I was a little surprised by the award.  I mean, I know I keep the blog area tidy.  But for it to be truly beautiful, I’d have to get some flowers around the place, maybe a couple of potted plants. 

Still, the award nominations look nice over the fireplace. 

But I digress.  Thank you, Jon at Jumping from Cliffs, for nominating my blog.  I will try to keep the cobwebs at bay. 

The rules of this nomination stipulate that I am to tell you 5 beautiful/interesting things about myself or my blog and nominate 5 other bloggers for this award to spread the beautiful feeling. 

Also, the award must be handled with humour and humility in equal measure.

Beautiful fact 1;  I only began to blog because it seemed like a modern way to keep a writing journal.  Since then my blog has become as essential to me as my novel.  I enjoy being able to access it from anywhere on the planet (all right, within Europe). 

Beautiful fact 2;  My blog enables me to chart my journey.  I’m often startled when I read what was troubling me as a writer back in 2010, or how little I had written back then.  It all seems so long ago.  Nostalgia’s not what it used to be, you know.

Beautiful fact 3;  I love the way that my blog has enabled me to ‘reach out and touch’ so many like-minded people, some of whom have become friends.  I’m talking about you – yes, you.  No, not them behind you.  You.

Beautiful fact 4;  Having a circle of friendly bloggers is like having a big, warm, cosy blanket to wrap around me on the ‘down’ days.  ‘Alone’ is not a word that I use much anymore.

Beautiful fact 5;  I once read that the definition of old age is; ‘You have all the answers, but nobody is asking the questions.’  Well, blogging enables me to ask of that which I do not know and pass on that which I do (does that make grammatical sense?).  I don’t have all the answers (who does?), but together we can ensure that fewer of us now tread this uncertain road in lonely ignorance.  Thanks go to everyone who has offered advice and ‘steered me right.’

To vary my previous nominations and to ensure that there is no favouritism, I will nominate five bloggers that I haven’t nominated before.  The alternative is to nominate only five that I follow and exclude many worthy bloggers that I would also wish to nominate.  Guilty feelings for me and perhaps unhappiness from them for being omitted. 

So, five bloggers that I think deserve this award and who haven’t been previously nominated by me;

1) Em Types  – a rivetting read.  I found myself simply unable to stop.

2) Paulina Czarnecki – who lurves Emoticons  😉  so much she blogs about them.

3)  J-Bo  Love the picture, love the chatter.

4)  Jacqui Murray – I always leave here enchanted AND educated.

5) Norfolk Novelist – every glance draws me in to read more…

Enjoy, check out these great blogs – and keep widening the circle of bloggers.  

The main reason I am following so many fascinating blogs is because of this type of awards system. *Cheers!*

Write on!

 

