barunpatro angel

This week I offer an excerpt from ‘A Vengeance of Angels’ (book 2 of the Angels of York).  Again, it will contain mild spoilers if you haven’t read the first book ‘A Construct of Angels’.

.

Michael has been taking action that has angered the Eternal Realm (what we have come to know as Heaven) enough for the Realm to despatch an Angel to warn him;  ‘Cease your activities or suffer destruction.’

A single booming ‘NO!” precedes the Angel’s arrival.

Michael, despite his status as an ex-Angel, is afforded no respite from the might of this powerful being;

.

The voice that smashed into me was powerful enough to shatter my bones.  I was slammed into the grass, my breath exploding from my flattened lungs as a whoosh.  A brilliant figure materialised before me, radiating a furious energy that set my blood wailing with terror even as I scrambled to regain my feet.

Twice my height, its incandescent limbs barely distinguishable as such, the being seemed to sneer at my diminutive mortal form as my knees buckled and I dropped into supplication before it.  The ozone-laden air rippled madly as the being’s voice thundered past and through me, vibrating deep into my lungs.

My body begged for release; to wail out its anguish at having been subdued in such a matter, but little more than a whimper escaped me as the air continued to resonate from the being’s thunderous words.

I was helpless before it.

.

Okay…I threw in one extra…so sue me. 🙂

Write on!

