A fascinating look at the Anima and Animus..otherwise known as our collective unconscious which can be male or female, though to be opposite to our physical gender. This could go some way to explaining why I consider my Muse to be feminine! Read…and be intrigued?

Zen and the Art of Tightrope Walking

The Evolution of my Animus ~ how he grows and changes as I do

During a conversation on Twitter with Marc Nash I made a throwaway comment about having hero/animus issues. What I’d meant was how the hero (or if you prefer ‘main character’) of one of my novels reflected my own animus. If you are not familiar with the concept of animus/anima then do have a bit of a read. I’m not a psychotherapist and I’m just a writer so those with more wisdom than I on this subject will need to bear with me, without yelling at me that I’ve got it wrong.

Wikipedia, that first port of call for information has this to say about what the anima/animus actually is/are:

The anima and animus are described by Jung as elements of his theory of the collective unconscious, a domain of the unconscious that transcends the personal…

View original post 1,240 more words

