image courtesy of Morrhigan at StockXchng

Does it still trouble you that you didn’t fit in well at school?  Were you outside the circle of ‘cool kids,’ bullied, ridiculed and cast aside because you were bright?

Well, a recent report now casts doubt and shines light on those of us who suffered through our teenage years.

Read this and feel better about yourself. I did! If the link goes down, try here instead.

I was single-minded in my desire to learn as much as I could during my school years, to the extent that I was banned from the Chemistry, Physics and Engineering Science labs during lunch hours because I was ‘reading too far ahead’ (two years too far, to be precise).

My life at school was hell because I was surrounded by wannabe rebels and pseudo anarchists (this was at the beginning of the punk era in Britain) and learning wasn’t anti-establishment enough for these guys.

Still, I managed to cram in some secret learning along the way, a desire that continues to this day… although I have more trouble remembering stuff than I used to.

I remain, yours, a veritable information sponge.

acern270ginger write on

