vengeance_promo

Following the previous excerpt where Michael was set upon by the Anakim, Damocles, I thought I’d share the moment where a Mal’akhi-yah (A messenger from the Eternal Realm) crashes into Michael’s mortal life.

I hope I’ve managed to covey some of the awe-inspiring power a messenger radiates, and perhaps explain why angels have been revered by humans over the centuries:

“The voice that smashed into me shook my bones to the marrow. I was slammed into the grass, the breath bursting from my flattened lungs as a whoosh. My chest felt as if I had collided with Damocles again. Blackness filled my eyes; stars exploded across the void. I drew in a long breath, then released a groan that barely eased my pain. Blinking, the sparkling blackness finally gave way to a grey blur. Stark-limbed trees framed the too-bright sky. Focus eluded me, but I  stumbled upright, spinning drunkenly, prepared to hurl myself at Damocles, however fatal that might turn out to be for me.

But it was not the menacing Anakim who stood before me. Instead, a glowing figure, its limbs barely distinguishable as such, radiated a furious energy that set my blood wailing. Twice my height, it considered my diminutive mortal form as my knees buckled and I dropped into supplication.

“You must NOT…” it boomed. The voice slammed against my senses, bending me backward. The ozone-charged air shimmered as the noise thundered past and through me, vibrating deep into my lungs. I trembled uncontrollably, then slumped forward to land on my forearms, nose mashed into the damp grass. My body wanted to wail out its terror, its anguish at having been subdued in such a manner, but I released barely a whimper as the air continued to resonate from the being’s words. I was utterly helpless.

Although my body was ready to crave forgiveness, my mind recognised exactly what was confronting me—a Mal’akhi-yah, a messenger from above. Exactly what I would have become had I remained with the Realm.”

~

Hope you liked it. ‘A Vengeance of Angels’ is almost ready!

.

acern270ginger write on

