not much money

The month of December represents a landmark date in my writing career. Previously, I’ve ploughed any income from my writing (not very much, it has to be said) into clearing the debts that cloud my conscience and concentration.

No-one likes having debts hanging over them, right? Get rid as soon as possible is the plan.

Was the plan…

My little arrangement was working well, until the end of October, when everything changed.

For the past two months, I’ve been stuck at home, resting my injured knee. Despite performing home-based duties during this time, my employer has decided the time had come to cut my pay, leaving me desperately short of funds.

Enter my emergency writing fund slash advertising back-up slash paperback purchasing pot. It wasn’t a great deal of notes, but it plugged a very real hole in my cashflow. This is the first time I’ve had to use my hobby slash future career (fingers crossed) as a crutch and you know what? It feels great to have it there as a fall-back.

Maybe one day, hopefuly sooner rather than later, my earnings as a writer might be there to support me full-time. But for now, I’m grateful for the gift that allows me to create something from nothing, something from my imagination, something that people are willing to buy from me.

And that is why I continue to:

acern270ginger write on

